A New Era

Posted on Updated on


Rich Q

Be careful about reading health books

You may die of a misprint

Mark Twain

The date was February 10th, 2010. I woke up feeling very woozy. I took a few steps and lost consciousness for a few seconds. I kept myself upright brushed it off to a point. A queasiness. stayed with me the whole day. It had snowed so I shoveled afterwards doing chores right up until it was time to fetch the pizza for the Superbowl party I was hosting. It was after the game I went to stand up and found I no longer had control of my body. I was sprawled over the table in front of me. Thus began a new ordeal.

For the rest of the month I remained hospitalized as doctors performed over a million dollars worth of testing all coming up negative. During that time my condition declined steadily until all I had left was minimal control of hand movement. Though no test verified it I was deemed to have had a stroke. The next step was to ship me to a nursing home having been told I would at best achieve minimal improvement and never walk again.

Remember the Mark Twain quote. Afterward 2 years and countless hours of self initiated therapy along with the relentless efforts of a therapy team working with little resources and a lot of heart I was walking with a cane. In my third year new doctors re-diagnosed me as having not a stroke but a rare blood nerve disorder. After a grueling 12 day ordeal of plasma replacement therapy reversal began to take leaps and bounds toward recovery. I am continuing with a series of 8 sessions over a period of 8 months.

Insurance doesn’t cover anymore therapy so I work on my own in shared room where my space is 6 x 8 including bed stand alone closet and a set of drawers. Creativity came in when I gained access of the internet and downloaded no equipment exercise videos and rebuilt my body. For example I had a situation where I picked up a 200 plus man wheelchair and all off the ground and move him several feet. I will never be totally back but I now have a chance at a decent quality of life.

So, now you understand the large time gap in this blog. As of now I have limited internet access but I have begun the new era of rebuilding. Have no fear this will not become a pity party. This blog will return to it’s roots of creativity and initiative. So, please check back with me as we enter the new era and the return to greatness.

3 thoughts on “A New Era

    Professor VJ Duke said:
    October 26, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    Wise man definitely before his time or any time! Thanks for sharing. You may be Punchyish. Anyone who thinks Twain has to be. Yes?

      aquariancore responded:
      October 26, 2013 at 10:11 pm

      I’ve been a Mark Twain fan my whole life

Leave a Reply

